California Child Labor Laws
California’s child labor laws govern the employment of minors in the state. Except in certain circumstances, children under the age of 13 are not permitted to work in California. Children aged 14 and 15 may work in a greater choice of jobs, but their daily and weekly hours are severely restricted.
Definition of minor
A minor in California is defined as someone under the age of 18 who is compelled to attend school. It also includes children under the age of six, as well as non-residents who are not obligated to attend school due to their status as a non-resident.
Permit to employ and work
Unless an exception exists, California child labor rules require minors under the age of 18 to get a work permit before they can lawfully work in the state. Visit our California Child Labor Laws – Permit to Employ and Work page for additional information. For further information, go to http://www.childlaborlaws.org/.
12 and 13 year olds
Child labor regulations normally allow children aged 12 and 13 to work only on regular school holidays, during public school vacations, and during selected public school vacations. They are not permitted to work before or after school on any ordinary school day. 49111, 49112, and 49116 are California Education Codes.
14 and 15 year olds
California’s child labor laws include particular regulations for 14 and 15-year-olds. They include limitations on when they can work during the day, how many hours they can work per week, and what jobs or occupations they can do. Visit our California Child Labor Laws – 14 and 15 Year Olds page for more information.
16 and 17 year olds
California’s child labor laws include particular measures for 16 and 17-year-olds. They include limitations on when they can work during the day, how many hours they can work per week, and what jobs or occupations they can do. Visit our page on California Child Labor Laws for 16 and 17-year-olds for additional information.
Career training, apprenticeships, and other training
With the exception of industry, California’s child labor laws exclude kids from occupational limits. If parental clearance is obtained, the work experience coordinator assesses that the pupils have received sufficient training in the employment or work otherwise banned by these rules. California was the first state to implement child labor legislation in.
Youth 14 years of age and older may work in agricultural activities that are not otherwise forbidden by federal regulation, according to California Labor Code 1295(b). Under a documented agreement with the employer, youth must be enrolled in a legitimate vocational agriculture program. They must have completion certificates from earlier training.
California’s child labor regulations allow children aged 12 and above to deliver newspapers on foot, by bicycle, or by public transportation. By driving a car, 16 and 17-year-olds can distribute newspapers to customers. Child labor is prohibited in the delivering of newspapers under California Labor Code 1294.1(c).
Employers who employ minors under the age of 16 in a place more than 10 miles from the minor’s home must register under California’s child labor regulations. The registration has to be renewed every year. The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement in California can provide you with a registration application.
Employment of minors in the entertainment industry
Child labor laws in California allow children of nearly any age to work in the entertainment sector, subject to a number of restrictions and limitations. California is regarded as one of the most restrictive states in the country.
Employers in California are required by law to retain all permits and certificates for work involving minors on file. At any time, employers must allow attendance and probation officers, the State Board of Education, and Division of Labor Standards Enforcement officers to inspect files.
Right of access
Child labor regulations are being investigated by the California Department of Labor and Child Protective Services. A violation of the child labor law occurs when access is not granted as necessary.
Citations and Penalties
If the California Department of Industrial Relations concludes that an employer has violated child labor rules, it will issue a citation. Within 15 business days of receiving the citation, the employer may oppose it by asking a formal hearing from the Labor Commissioner’s office listed on the citation.
Class A violations
Except for individuals who are subject to Class B tickets, the California Department of Industrial Relations issued Class A citations for all infractions of California child labor regulations. Employers who commit Class A infractions face a civil penalty of between $5,000 and $10,000.
Class B violations
For the following infractions, the California Department of Industrial Relations issues Class B citations. Employers who violate California’s child labor rules in the Class B category face a civil penalty of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000 for each offense. The fines vary from $500 to $1,000.
Employers who violate California’s child labor rules may be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. Only if an individual has previously broken the law can they be sentenced to prison.
Can you work at 15 in California?
If you are a minor in California, you must first obtain a work permit before you may begin working. Your school issues you a permit. When school is in session, 14- and 15-year-olds may work up to 18 hours per week, or 3 hours per day when school is not in session.
How do you get a work permit at 15 in California?
After an employer agrees to engage a minor, the minor must receive a Department of Education form called “Statement of Intent to Employ Minor and Request for Work Permit” from his or her school. The minor and the employer must fill out the form, which must be signed by the minor’s parent or guardian and the employer.
How old do you have to be to get a job in California?
With certain exceptions, federal child labor laws set the minimum age to work at 14, while California’s minimum age to work is 14 in most circumstances.
Can I employ a 14 year old?
A young person under the age of sixteen (16) can acquire a part-time work starting at the age of fourteen. They can only be hired in ‘light labour,’ though.
What job can I get at 15?
What kind of jobs are available to 14 and 15-year-olds?
- A person who walks dogs
- Bagger of groceries.
What state can you work at 14?
Child Labor Laws in the United States That Apply to Agricultural Work
|State 1||Minimum age for employment|
|during school hours||outside school hours|
|California||18, 16 if not required to attend school||12|
How many hours can a minor work in CA?
Minors aged 16 to 17 are normally limited to 4 hours of labor each school day and 8 hours per nonschool day throughout the school year, beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. (On non-school days, till 12:30 a.m.) The limitations are 8 hours per day and 48 hours per week when school is out.
Can you work at 14 in California?
In general, children under the age of 13 are not permitted to work in California, with the exception of a few exceptions. 14 and 15-year-olds are allowed to work in a wider range of jobs, although they are restricted in the number of hours they can work per day and per week, especially when school is in session.
What GPA is required for a work permit in California?
Your GPA must be at least 1.6. You will not be granted a work permit if your GPA is below the statutory minimum. The following documents must be brought with you: a completed application, including a Statement of Intent to Employ a Minor and a Request for Work Permit Application.
What are jobs that hire at 13?
ACT/NT Jobs for 13-Year-Olds
- Sitting for pets.
- Walker of dogs.
- Get a job on the internet.
- Work in the garden.
- Make a paper ring.
- Modeling, acting, and being an extra are all options.
What is minimum wage in California?
1 in California, where a slew of new business and labor legislation will take effect in 2021. Another existing law raises the minimum wage to $14 per hour, with the goal of raising it to $15 per hour for all employees by 2023. Employers with less than 25 employees are required to pay at least $13 per hour.
Can you work at Starbucks at 14?
– Of course. Starbucks hires minors as early as 14 years old as long as they follow state child labor laws regarding work permits and hours.
How much do 14-year-olds earn?
What should my remuneration be? Except in certain instances, an employer must pay you at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked.
How can I earn money at 14?
14-Year-Olds Can Make Money in 6 Different Ways
- Babysitter. Getty Images/Adie Bush
- Working in a restaurant or for a company. Getty Images/gchutka
- The route of the paper. Getty Images/Rocko and Betty
- Yard work and snow shoveling are two things that come to mind when it comes to yard work and snow shoveling Getty Images/Hero Images
- Taking Care of Animals Getty Images/redheadpictures
- Counselor at a Junior Camp. Getty Images/Susan Chiang
Can a 17 and 14 year old date?
It is prohibited for anyone, including another person under the age of 18, to engage in sexual behavior with a minor. It is remains illegal when you turn 18. Dating is permitted as long as there is no sexual activity involved, but as long as she is a juvenile, she is prohibited from dating.