How Old You Have to Be to Work in Texas
Unlike some states, Texas does not require juvenile workers to obtain a child employment certificate or an age certificate in order to work; however, a prospective employer can request a certificate of age from the Texas Workforce Commission. Work practices for minors ages 14 and 15 are also governed by federal law, and a Texan aged 14 or 15 is restricted to certain types of work in certain types of businesses.
Teens between the ages of 14 and 15 are not allowed to use power mowers or other cutting machines, but they are allowed to do kitchen work and food prep in certain circumstances. Teens are allowed to serve food to customers, but they are not allowed to handle prepared meat. The US Secretary of Labor may declare some occupations hazardous. Children under the age of 14 may be able to obtain a child actor/performer authorization, allowing them to work in a variety of settings.
Can 14 year olds work in Texas?
In Texas, youths 14 and 15 years old may not work more than eight hours per day or more than 48 hours per week, and they may only work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year, while federal law allows them to work until 9 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day.
What can you do at 14 in Texas?
Job Opportunities for 14 and 15-Year-Olds in Texas
- Retail Cashier.
- Price Marking.
- Order Assembly.
- Bagging/Carrying Orders.
- Errand Work (via Bike, Foot, Public Transportation)
- Maid Service or Lawn Care (no power mowers or cutters)
How do you get a work permit at 14 in Texas?
If a prospective or current employer requests a Certificate of Age from a child aged 14 to 17, the certificate can be obtained from the Texas Workforce Commission at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/llcl72.pdf Texas Workforce Commission Certificate of Age
Can you be 13 and work at Subway?
u2013 Yes, Subway’s general minimum age requirement is 16. However, some state regulations allow minors as young as 15 to work at Subway.
Can a 14 year old work at Walmart?
To work at Walmart, you must be at least 16 years old, and to work at Sam’s Club, you must be at least 18.
Can you work at Chick-Fil-A at 14 in Texas?
You must be at least 14 years old to apply at Chick-fil-A (locations may vary).
Can I get a job at 15 in Texas?
Children under the age of 13 are generally prohibited from working in Texas, with the exception of a few exceptions; youth between the ages of 14 and 15 are permitted to work in a broader range of jobs, but are restricted in the number of hours they can work per day and per week, especially when school is in session.
What age does McDonald’s hire in Texas?
We’ll teach you the rest. If you’re looking for part-time or full-time work, give us a shot. To work as a Crew Member at McDonald’s, you must be 16 years old or older, and you must have a Texas Food Handler Certificate.
How late can 16 year olds work in Texas?
Cannot work more than 48 hours in a week; cannot go to work before 5 a.m.; cannot work after 10 p.m. on a day that is followed by a school day, including summer school sessions when applicable; cannot work past midnight on a day that is not followed by a school day; cannot work after 10 p.m. on a day that is not followed by a school day; cannot work after midnight on a day that is not followed by a school day; cannot
Do you need a work permit at 14 in Texas?
Minors as young as 14 can work in Texas, and there is no need for a work permit; the minor simply needs to find work. Because the federal government does not require work permits, minors living in Texas are not required to obtain one prior to seeking employment in the state.
Do I need a work permit at 17 in Texas?
To work in Texas, anyone 17 years old or younger requires a work permit, which is processed by the employer. The employee cannot work until the work permit is properly authorized, and the work permit requires the employee to submit proof of age, such as a birth certificate.
Can a 13 year old work at Chick Fil A?
The most common minimum age for a Chick-fil-A team member position is 15, but other job roles may require employees to be 16 or older.
Can a 13 year old work at Home Depot?
Employees at Home Depot must be at least 16 years old.
How much do you get paid at Subway at 13?
No, because we work with knives at Subway, and according to the law, you must be at least 14 and 9 months old to work with knives. Would not recommend; minimum wage for a 13-year-old is $6, and you will be working constantly because you are the cheapest to put on the roster.