California Child Labor Laws
California’s child labor laws govern the employment of minors in the state. These rules establish their ages and periods, as well as the types of labor they are allowed to do. Youth under the age of 13 are not permitted to work in California, with the exception of a few exceptions.
Definition of minor
A minor is defined by California child labor laws as anyone under the age of 18 who is required to attend school under California’s Education Code, as well as any kid under the age of six. It also covers anyone who is exempt from attending school just because they are a nonresident.
Permit to employ and work
Unless an exception exists, California child labor rules require minors under the age of 18 to get a work permit before they can lawfully work in the state. Without a permit, child labor is unlawful in the United States.
12 and 13 year olds
Children aged 12 and 13 are normally only permitted to work on regular school holidays, during public school vacations, and during certain infrequent public school vacations, according to child labor rules. They are not permitted to work before or after school on any ordinary school day. Up to two (2) hours per school day and up to four (4) hours each workweek are allowed under California Education Code 49111, 49112, and 49116.
14 and 15 year olds
California’s child labor laws include rules aimed specifically at 14 and 15-year-olds, such as limitations on when they can work during the day, how many hours they can work per week, and what jobs or occupations they can do. Visit our California Child Labor Laws – 14 and 15 Year Olds page for more information.
16 and 17 year olds
California’s child labor laws include particular measures for 16 and 17-year-olds. They include limitations on when they can work during the day, how many hours they can work per week, and what jobs or occupations they can do. Visit our page on California Child Labor Laws for 16 and 17-year-olds for additional information.
Career training, apprenticeships, and other training
If a child is enrolled in one of the following programs, they are exempt from occupational restrictions, with the exception of manufacturing. The work experience coordinator decides whether the students have received adequate training in the occupation or work banned by these articles. The student’s progress toward graduation will not be hampered if parental approval is secured.
If the following requirements are met, youth 14 and older may work in agricultural activities that are otherwise prohibited by federal regulation. Under a formal agreement, the youth is enrolled as a student-learner in a legitimate vocational agriculture program, with the student’s employment being incidental to instruction.
California’s child labor regulations allow children aged 12 and above to deliver newspapers to customers on foot, by bicycle, or by public transportation. Driving a car is an option for 16 and 17-year-olds who want to deliver newspapers. Child labor is prohibited in the United States for anyone under the age of eighteen.
Employers who employ minors under the age of 16 in a place more than 10 miles from the minor’s home must register with the Labor Commissioner under California’s child labor regulations. The registration has to be renewed every year. The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement in California can provide you with a registration application.
Employment of minors in the entertainment industry
Child labor laws in California allow children of nearly any age to work in the entertainment sector, subject to a number of restrictions and limitations. The agency is collaborating with the US Department of Labor to enhance working conditions for children in the child labor industry.
Employers who employ minors in California are required by law to retain all permits and certificates for employment involving the minors on file. At any time, employers must allow attendance and probation officers, the State Board of Education, and Division of Labor Standards Enforcement personnel to inspect the files.
Right of access
A policy on child labor infractions has been established by the California Department of Labor and Child Protective Services. A violation of the child labor rules occurs when access is not granted as necessary. The agency is in charge of investigating any infractions of California’s child labor laws that occur in the state.
Citations and Penalties
If the California Department of Industrial Relations concludes that an employer has violated California child labor rules, it will issue a citation. If the person who owns or controls the actual property on which the youth works has intentionally permitted the violation, the youth must labor for that person.
Class A violations
Except for individuals who are subject to Class B tickets, the California Department of Industrial Relations issued Class A citations for all infractions of California child labor regulations. Employers who commit Class A infractions face a civil penalty of not less than $5,000 and not more than $10,000 per violation.
Class B violations
For infractions that pose an immediate danger to minors or a substantial chance of death or serious physical harm, the California Department of Industrial Relations issues Class B citations. Employers who violate California’s child labor rules in the Class B category face a civil penalty of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000.
Employers who violate California’s child labor regulations may be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in county jail. Only if a person has previously broken California’s child labor rules can they be sentenced to prison.
Can I employ a 14 year old?
A young person under the age of sixteen (16) can acquire a part-time work starting at the age of fourteen. They can only be hired in ‘light labour,’ though.
Can you work at 13 in California?
In general, children under the age of 13 are not permitted to work in California, with the exception of a few exceptions. 14 and 15-year-olds are allowed to work in a wider range of jobs, although they are restricted in the number of hours they can work per day and per week, especially when school is in session.
Can 14 year olds work in California?
California’s Minimum Working Age Minors aged 14 and up can work in California with a “State Permit to Employ and Work,” or work permit, which is required for kids until they turn 18. For more information on California’s teen labor regulations, see here.
How can I get a job at 14 in California?
After an employer agrees to engage a minor, the minor must receive a Department of Education form called “Statement of Intent to Employ Minor and Request for Work Permit” from his or her school. The minor and the employer must fill out the form, which must be signed by the minor’s parent or guardian and the employer.
How much do 14 year olds earn?
What should my remuneration be? Except in certain instances, an employer must pay you at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked.
How can I earn money at 14?
14-Year-Olds Can Make Money in 6 Different Ways
- Babysitter. Getty Images/Adie Bush
- Working in a restaurant or for a company. Getty Images/gchutka
- The route of the paper. Getty Images/Rocko and Betty
- Yard work and snow shoveling are two things that come to mind when it comes to yard work and snow shoveling Getty Images/Hero Images
- Taking Care of Animals Getty Images/redheadpictures
- Counselor at a Junior Camp. Getty Images/Susan Chiang
Can 13 year olds work at Chick Fil A?
The most typical minimum age for a Chick-fil-A team member position is 15 years old. Employees in other work roles may be required to be 16 years old or older.
Can you work at McDonalds at 13?
The minimum age to work at McDonald’s is 14 years old; however, depending on state legislation, this may be higher. If you’re still in school, you might need to get a permit or formal approval to work. Age requirements may also differ depending on the position (managers typically need to be 18 years or older).
Can a 13 year old work at Subway?
Employees at Subway must be 16 years old in order to work there. Is it possible to get a job at Subway at the age of 15? – Of course. Minors as young as 15 are permitted to work at Subway under certain state restrictions.
Can you work at Starbucks at 14?
– Of course. Starbucks hires minors as early as 14 years old as long as they follow state child labor laws regarding work permits and hours.
Does target hire 14 year olds?
To work at a Target store, you must be at least 16 years old. To apply for a Target Distribution Center position, you must be at least 18 years old.
Can a 14 year old work at Walmart?
To work at Walmart, you must be at least 16 years old, and to work at Sam’s Club, you must be at least 18.
How many hours can a minor work in CA?
Minors aged 16 to 17 are normally limited to 4 hours of employment each school day and 8 hours per nonschool day during the school year, from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. (or until 12:30 a.m. on a nonschool day). The limitations are 8 hours per day and 48 hours per week when school is out.
How old do you have to be to work at McDonald’s in California?
To work as a Crew Member at McDonald’s, you must be 16 years old or older.
What state can you work at 14?
Child Labor Laws in the United States That Apply to Agricultural Work
|State 1||Minimum age for employment|
|during school hours||outside school hours|
|California||18, 16 if not required to attend school||12|