Legal Age to Work in Tennessee
Employees working in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption must be at least 18 years old, and their shifts must begin after 7 a.m. and end after 7 p.m.
Tennessee Child Labor Laws
Employers must verify the age of minors before hiring them, and acceptable legal documents that corroborate age include birth certificates, driver licenses, state issued IDs, or copies of passports. Teens can apply for a variety of jobs that are suitable for workers their age in Tennessee.
Employers must keep a file for each employed minor, which should be kept on-site at all times, according to Tennessee’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development, which reserves the right to inspect premises where minors will or may work. An additional guideline applies only to 16 and 17-year-olds who receive homeschool educations.
Minors 14 and 15 years old are not allowed to work more than three hours per school day or 18 hours per week, while minors 16 and 17 years old are allowed to work as long as their curfew is 12:00 a.m. Tennessee child labor laws prohibit employment from interfering with school hours.
The Tennessee Child Labor Act prohibits anyone under the age of eighteen from compromising them in any way, and several occupations are still too dangerous for minors to perform, including:. Mining Coal or Other Elements. Operation of Power-Driven Machinery.
Where can a 14 year old work in Tennessee?
Teens are being hired in Tennessee.
- Jobs for teens at Regal Cinemas, a multiplex theater chain with one of the largest and most geographically diverse theater chains in the United States.
- Staples, an office supplies retail company.
- Piggly Wiggly.
- Banana Republic.
How do you get a work permit at 14 in Tennessee?
Although the state does not require work permits, the minor must provide the proper documentation as proof of age to the prospective employer, such as a birth certificate, driver’s license, state-issued ID, a copy of their passport, and so on.
Can you be 13 and work at Subway?
u2013 Yes, Subway’s general minimum age requirement is 16. However, some state regulations allow minors as young as 15 to work at Subway.
How do you get a work permit at 15 in Tennessee?
The state of Tennessee does not require work permits, but the minor must provide a copy of one of the following documents to the prospective employer as proof of age: birth certificate, driver’s license, state issued ID, or a copy of their passport.
How many hours can a minor work in TN?
Children can start working at the age of 14, but they can only work for 3 hours per day, 18 hours per week, and no later than 7 p.m. during the school year, or 8 hours per day, 40 hours per week, and no later than 9 p.m. when school is out until they are 16.
How old do you have to be to work at McDonald’s in Tennessee?
We’ll teach you the rest. If you’re looking for part-time or full-time work, give us a shot. To work as a Crew Member at McDonald’s, you must be 16 years old or older.
Can you work at Publix at 14?
Working at Publix Facts Minimum Age to Work at Publix: 14 years old (How old do you have to be to work at Publix?) Printable Application: No. Search Job Openings or go to the official website.
Can a 16 year old work 6 days a week?
Minors aged 16 and 17 who are enrolled in school may not work for more than nine hours on any given day, 40 hours in a school week, 48 hours in a non-school week, or six days in a week, and must have written parental permission to work until 11 p.m. on nights before a school day.
How much can a 16 year old work in a week?
There are also limits on how many hours they can work per day: on school days, they can work up to 3 hours per day and 18 hours total during the week; on non-school days, they can work up to 8 hours per day and 40 hours total during the week.
Can you work at mcdonalds at 13?
The minimum age to work at McDonald’s is 14 years old; however, depending on state laws, this may be higher; you may also need a permit or written permission to work if you’re still in school; and age requirements may vary by position (managers typically need to be 18 years or older).
Can a 13 year old work at Chick Fil A?
The most common minimum age for a Chick-fil-A team member position is 15, but other job roles may require employees to be 16 or older.
Can a 13 year old work at Home Depot?
Employees at Home Depot must be at least 16 years old.
How many hours can a 15 year old work in TN?
Youths aged 14 and 15 may work up to eight hours per day; however, employers should not schedule minors for more than 40 hours per week. Tennessee residents should be aware that the hours that youths are permitted to work do not change during non-school sessions.
Can you get a job at 15 in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, children cannot work until they are 14 years old, and the amount and length of time they can work varies depending on their age and whether or not school is in session; in some cases, parental consent forms are also required before minors can be hired for employment.
What is minimum wage in Tennessee?
Tennessee’s minimum wage is $7.25, the same as the federal minimum wage; however, Tennessee is one of only five states without a minimum wage law or exemptions for certain types of workers, such as tipped employees and full-time students.