California Child Labor Laws – Employment Law Handbook
California child labor laws regulate youth employment, dictating their ages, times, and types of work they are allowed to do. Youth aged 16 and 17 are allowed to work in a wide range of jobs, but they are not allowed to work in jobs that have been explicitly deemed too dangerous.
Definition of minor
A minor is defined by California child labor laws as anyone under the age of 18 who is required to attend school, including those who are not required to attend school solely because they are a nonresident. The term’minor’ is defined by California Labor Code 1286(c).
Permit to employ and work
Unless an exception applies, California child labor laws require youth under the age of 18 to have a permit to work before they can legally work in the state. For more information, see our California Child Labor Laws u2013 Permit to Employ and Work page.
12 and 13 year olds
A permit to employ and work may be issued to a 13 year old to work up to two (2) hours on a school day. Child labor laws generally only allow 12 and 13 year olds to work in public schools, and they may not work on any regular school day, either before or after school.
14 and 15 year olds
The California Child Labor Laws u2013 14 and Fifteen Year Olds page has more information about the laws that apply to 14 and 15 year olds, including restrictions on how long they can work and what jobs they can do.
16 and 17 year olds
California’s child labor laws have specific provisions for 16 and 17-year-olds, including restrictions on when they can work and how many hours they can work per week. For more information, see our California Child Labor Laws u2013 16 and 17-year-olds page.
Career training, apprenticeships, and other training
Youth are exempt from occupational restrictions under California child labor laws, with the exception of manufacturing, where they can work if they are enrolled in one of the following programs: Work experience education programs conducted under either or both CA Labor Code Section 29007.5 and CA Education Code Section 51760-51769.5.
Youth 14 years of age and older are permitted to work in agricultural occupations under California child labor laws, provided that they are enrolled as student-learners in a bona fide vocational agriculture program, and that their employers keep a copy of the certificates of completion on file with the youth’s record.
Minors engaged in the processing and delivery of newspapers may enter areas of a newspaper plant other than areas where printing presses are located, according to California child labor laws. 16 and 17 year old youth may deliver newspapers by driving an automobile, and minors engaged in the processing and delivery of newspapers may enter areas of a newspaper plant other than areas where printing presses are located.
Employers who employ youth under the age of 16 in any location more than 10 miles from their home must register with the Labor Commissioner, and the registration must be renewed on an annual basis. An application for registration can be obtained from California’s Division of Labor Standards Enforcement.
Employment of minors in the entertainment industry
California child labor laws allow children of almost any age to work in the entertainment industry, subject to a number of restrictions and limitations (see our California Child Labor Laws u2013 Entertainment Industry page for more information).
Can you work at 13 in California?
Children under the age of 13 are generally prohibited from working in California, with the exception of a few exceptions; youth between the ages of 14 and 15 are permitted to work in a broader range of jobs, but are restricted in the number of hours they can work per day and per week, especially when school is in session.
Can you work at 15 in California?
If you’re a minor in California, you’ll need a work permit, which you can get from your school. When school is in session, 14- and 15-year-olds are allowed to work 3 hours per day for a total of 18 hours per week.
Can you get a job at 14 in California?
Minors aged 14 and up can work in California if they have a “State Permit to Employ and Work” or work permit, which is required until they reach the age of 18.
Can I hire a 16 year old in California?
All minors under the age of 18 employed in the state of California must have a permit to work, except in limited circumstances defined by law and summarized in the Child Labor Law Booklet, and employers must have a valid Permit to Employ and Work before allowing a minor to work.
Can a 13 year old work at Subway?
Subway’s general minimum age requirement is 16. Does Subway Hire at 15? u2013 Yes, according to state regulations, minors as young as 15 can work at Subway.
Can you work at McDonalds at 13?
The minimum age to work at McDonald’s is 14 years old; however, depending on state laws, this may be higher; you may also need a permit or written permission to work if you’re still in school; and age requirements may vary by position (managers typically need to be 18 years or older).
What state can you work at 14?
Child Labor Laws in the United States That Apply to Agricultural Work
|State 1||Minimum age for employment|
|during school hours||outside school hours|
|California||18, 16 if not required to attend school||12|
What job can I get at 15?
What kind of jobs are available to 14 and 15-year-olds?
- Dog walker.
- Grocery bagger.
Can you work at Starbucks at 14?
u2013 Yes, minors as young as 14 can work at Starbucks as long as they follow state child labor regulations regarding work permits and hours.
Can a 14 year old work at McDonald’s in California?
You will take customers’ orders and prepare the requested foods and drinks, with a minimum age of 14 years old.
How old do you have to be to work at McDonald’s in California?
To work as a Crew Member at McDonald’s, you must be 16 years old or older.
What are jobs that hire at 13?
ACT/NT Jobs for 13-Year-Olds
- Pet Sitting.
- Dog Walker.
- Get an online job.
- Do yard work.
- Do the newspaper round.
- Modeling, acting, and extra work.
How many hours can I work at 16 California?
Minors aged 16 to 17 are generally limited to 4 hours of work on school days and 8 hours on nonschool days, from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. (or until 12:30 a.m. on a nonschool day) during the school year; when school is out, the limits are 8 hours per day and 48 hours per week.
How much can a 16 year old work in a week?
There are also limits on how many hours they can work per day: on school days, they can work up to 3 hours per day and 18 hours total during the week; on non-school days, they can work up to 8 hours per day and 40 hours total during the week.
Can you work when your 16?
The rules vary depending on the minor’s age and the job in question, but in general, the FLSA establishes 14 as the minimum age for employment and limits the number of hours minors under the age of 16 can work.